Fayette County, Texas Recycling

For all Fayette County, Texas sites where applicable

Standard Operating Policies & Procedures

No trash or refuse of any type is to be disposed of or otherwise landfilled on the property wrongfully. All such materials shall be disposed where appropriate. Anyone who disposes any item knowingly or in a wrongful manner will be prosecuted.

The public access is allowed in specific areas but not all areas. Due to liability issues involved with unnecessary activities at the solid waste facilities, the only activities allowed must be related to solid waste disposal or recycling. Fees will be assessed by the workers on duty if applicable.

All household waste must be bagged in Fayette County labeled trash bags available at most all sites. Accepted recycling items should be placed in the bin to obtain the highest return for Fayette County. See the customer service representative on duty for details.

Fayette County does not accept dead animals. **No tires or construction debris will be accepted.** The Fayette County employee on duty reserves the right to refuse items when necessary.

In the event of an emergency, all personal and customers are required to evacuate the premises immediately and call 911. No one is allowed back in until all appropriate professionals have cleared the area.

Reference state law for regulations on securing loads hauled to the Fayette County sites.

It is permissible to dispose of asphalt material at the site, if it does not contain fresh oil or any contaminated substance. (Only the Manager will be allowed to accept this item.)

Waste oil is accepted at the Fayette County Household Hazardous Waste Collection Facility from 7:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Tuesday through Friday and on Saturdays 7-1. Some other household hazardous wastes are accepted at the Fayette County Household Hazardous Waste Collection Facility. Fees may apply and only certain sites accept HHW, call for more information. Phone 979 968 8446. Only household quantities will be accepted, no commercial quantities or items.

Solid waste disposal is only permitted during regular business hours. Anyone dropping off items after hours will be prosecuted for illegal dumping.

Persons or employees looking for lost items are **not** permitted to search loads prepared for transfer. No one is allowed in any compactor at any time regardless of the reason.

All items must be paid for when services are rendered.

Fayette County **does** charge the general public for dumping clean loads of trees, limbs, chipped wood, leaves, and grass at the yard waste area. As of October 23, 2012 there will be a fee (refer to Rate Schedule at the LaGrange yard) for all residential brush disposed at the Solid Waste Facility. Fees may change at any time. Contaminated or undesirable loads of brush, trees or wood chips, as determined by Solid Waste personnel will not be accepted.

Compost/Mulch may be released from the LaGrange site only to the public when available. The public may purchase as much as you like but the manager does reserve the right to limit quantities if mulch supply is low.

Persons dumping loads at the LaGrange brush yard area are required to pay all applicable fees. The **customer is responsible for unloading**, no equipment available. Only natural yard waste such as trees, brush, shrubs, limbs and logs are allowed to be placed in the tree waste area. Fayette County reserves the right to limit quantities and sizes. Only Fayette County residents and/or Fayette County based businesses will be allowed to use the brush yard. Proof of Fayette County residency required!

No root balls or large tree trunks accepted. No material larger than 16" diameter and/or 8' long will be accepted. (Large-to be determined by the manager on duty.)

Fire wood can only be removed during regular business hours but no county employee will be allowed to help or use any equipment to remove.

Fayette County does not accept liquid materials or drums and containers with liquid contents. All HHW must be in its original container clearly and professionally labeled.

Fayette County does not accept suspect powders or dusts of unknown origin.

Fayette County does accept used motor oil, not water or trash allowed, the load will be rejected.

Fayette County does not accept raw sewage.

Fayette County does not accept tube televisions or monitors, NO CRT's.

Fayette County does not accept mattresses, sofas, or any other furniture.

Fayette County does not accept items that are too large to be properly and safely handled.

Fayette County does not process or handle asbestos or special wastes.

White goods are sold to recyclers under the provisions of a contract. Since the Federal Clean Air Act of 1990 prohibits the uncontrolled discharge of chlorofluorocarbons into the atmosphere after July 1, 1992, the following is the chlorofluorocarbon policy for recycled appliances and equipment containing chlorofluorocarbons and will be accepted at the LaGrange Yard only. Customers have two options under this policy. The options are:

The customer may have a qualified refrigeration technician remove the chlorofluorocarbon from the appliance to be recycled. The technician would attach a certification statement to that effect on the appliance. The customer may then bring the appliance and the removal certificate to the scrap metal yard and recycle the appliance at no additional cost to the customer.

The customer may bring the appliance containing chlorofluorocarbon to the LaGrange yard only and pay a chlorofluorocarbon removal fee (refer to Rate Schedule). Fayette County will contract to remove the chlorofluorocarbon from the appliance thus making it acceptable for recycling. All items must be emptied of all contents (ex. no meat, food, etc.).

No customers will be allowed in the scrap metal yard other than to drop-off. Customers may not pick up any items when in there. All items becomes the property of Fayette County, however no HHW items or contaminated items allowed.

All applicable local, state, and federal laws that apply will be followed by the staff and customers at all times.

Approved this 13th of January, 2022.

Joseph A. Weber, Fayette County Judge

Jason McBroom, Commissioner, Prct. 1

Harvey Berckenhoff, Commissioner, Prct. 3

Luke Sternadel, Commissioner, Prct. 2

Drew Brossmann, Commissioner, Prct. 4

Brenda Fietsam, County Clerk and

Clerk of the Commissioners Court